Seyhodan, Sargent strike with 4-10 in Independence and Mc Gill wins

WDCA Knockout T20 Competition…
The action continued in the West Demerara Cricket Association (WDCA) Knockout T20 Competition as the in-form Mc Gill Superstars Sports Club (MGSSC) battled All Youths Sports Club (AYSC) last Sunday at the Wales Community Development Council (CDC) Ground.

Keshram Seyhodan bagged 4-10 to hand Mc Gill the victory

The Mc Gill openers looked solid in the opening overs, but the team soon found themselves at 35-3 as the AYSC bowlers picked up wickets at regular intervals. Keshram Seyhodan then came to the crease and blasted a quick-fire 19 (2x4s, 1×6) to counter-attack the AYSC bowlers, but he fell in the 15th over playing a reckless shot. Azar Deen and Shafiek Deen then took the score to 94-6 before the latter fell for a patient 26 in the 19th over off the bowling of Jadesh Persaud.
Mc Gill finished on 100-6 in their 20 overs with Azar Deen unbeaten on 19 (2×4). Taking wickets for All Youths were Narendra Persaud (2-20); Budhan Baksh (1-13) and Dwayne Scott chipped in with 1-16.
Needing 101 for victory, All Youths SC looked shaky from the start as Sudesh Persaud and Azar Deen bowled with pace and precision.
Left-arm spinner Seyhodan was then introduced into the attack and immediately caused problems for the All Youths batsmen as he picked up two scalps in the seventh over. Despite Jadesh Persaud’s cameo of 23, he could not carry on as Seyhodan and Travis Persaud continued inflicting further damage on their opponents.
Budhan Baksh offered some resistance, but kept losing partners at regular intervals. Baksh and Travis Worthright were at the crease when All Youths SC required 20 from the last two overs for victory. Seyhodan bowled the penultimate over for two runs and also removed Worthright stumped for 5.

Richie Looknauth bagged 4-1 in a losing effort

Needing 18 from six balls in the final over, Baksh, the set batsman, was on strike. Azar Deen steamed in with pace and delivered a spectacular last over, conceding just six runs and also grabbing the wicket of Baksh, who was caught at cover for 24, to hand MGSSC the victory.
The main bowlers for MGSSC were Seyhodan (4-10); Travis Persaud (2-28); Sudesh Persaud (1-11) and Azar Deen (1-15).
Meanwhile, in the other match between Cornelia Ida Cricket Club (CICC) and Independence A, CICC were sent in to bat and posted 128 all out in their allotted 20 overs. Scoring for CICC was Vaickesh Dhaniram (42) as Independence A’s bowling attack was led by Ricky Sargent with 4-10.
In response, Independence A chased the total down in 19.2 overs, ending on 130-8 with Sargent playing a match-winning 65 despite Richie Looknauth bagging 4-1.