Squash, boxing win big at Sport Awards

Photos by Jemima Holmes

Squash and boxing were the sports frequently mentioned when the National Sports Commission (NSC) hosted the National Sports Awards for the period 2021-2022 at the National Cultural Centre, on Sunday evening.
The period 2021-2022 was considered by a panel of Journalists and NSC figures, with the year 2020 being struck out, owing to the coronavirus pandemic.
In attendance at Sunday’s soiree were Sport Minister Charles Ramson Jr; Director of Sport (DoS), Steve Ninvalle; NSC Chairman Kashif Muhammad; other members of the NSC Board, athletes; officials; and family members.
When the dust settled, it was boxing’s Desmond Amsterdam who was adjudged Sportsman of the Year, while squash’s Nicolette Fernandes was named Sportswoman of the Year, both for their exploits on the international stage.

Full list of awardees:
Sportsman of the Year
Desmond Amsterdam (Boxing)
Runner-up – Tagenarine Chanderpaul (Cricket)

Kashif Muhammad hands Attoya Harvey her Junior Sportswoman of the Year Award

Sportswoman of the Year
Nicolette Fernandes (Squash)
Runner-up – Rosanna Fung (Bodybuilding)

Omari Glasgow’s aunt receives his junior runner-up sportsman of the year award on his behalf

Junior Sportsman of the Year
Shomari Wiltshire (Squash)
Runner-up – Omari Glasgow (Football)

Garfield Wiltshire receives the Junior Sportsman of the Year Award on his son Shomari’s behalf

Junior Sportswoman of the Year
Attoya Harvey (Athletics)
Runner-up – Kristen Gomes (Squash)

Sportsman of the Year (Person with Disabilities)
Walter Grant Stuart

Male Coach of the Year
Idi Lewis (Table tennis)

Emily Ramdhani is supported by another GBA executive as she receives her late husband, Gokarn Ramdhani’s posthumous award

Female Coach of the Year
Tremayne Smartt (Cricket)

Sports team of the Year
Junior Squash Team (CASA)

Association of the Year
Guyana Boxing Association (GBA)

Dr Marissa Parris receives the GBA’s award for Association of the Year from Kashif Muhammad

Male Sports Official of the Year
Ryan Sampson (Rifle shooting)

Female Sports Official of the Year
Ann Gordon (Basketball, Football, etc)

Corporate Sponsor of the Year
Large – ANSA McAL
Medium – Mohamed’s Enterprise
Small – MVP Sports

Sport Journalist of the Year
Print – Duncan Saul
Broadcast – Akeem Greene
Non-Print – Avenash Ramzan

Posthumous Award
Gokarn Ramdhani (Badminton)

Awardees at the National Sports Awards along with Sport Minister Charles Ramson Jr, DoS Steve Ninvalle and others