Who will be $300,000 richer today?

Hamilton Green 9-a-side Inter-Ward Cup

While being cognisant of the inclement weather, organisers of this year’s Hamilton Green Cup Inter Ward/Village 9-a-side Knockout Football Tournament have confirmed that today’s final showdown in the competition will go ahead as planned.
This is according to Co-coordinator Lennox Arthur, who has said the organisers are busy preparing to ensure that spectators have a great time throughout the day; and the action is set to kick-off at 16:00hrs with ‘round of 16 play’, before the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final are played.

Delon Lanferman

The Round of 16 opening salvo will see Timehri, with such players as Seon David, Colwyn Cort and Sheldon Holder in their line- up, tackling Mahaicony, who will be spearheaded by Delbert Wilson, Sheldon Toney and Bertie Shepherd.
Tyrone Khan’s Soesdyke then take on Liliendaal in what is anticipated to be an exciting affair. Khan will be supported by the likes of Delon Smith and Alvin Adams, while Liliendaal’s quest for victory will be led by Anthony Sancho, Otto Jones and Akeem Saul.
The Mocha-versus-Charlestown encounter is a virtual final, with the Stewart brothers – –Orville and Dorville – and Kevin Gordon expected to lead the former pursuit of a win. Keiron Solomon, Jamal Cozier, Jermin Junor and Devon Charles are the key players for the latter team.
Kevin Humphrey, Michael Thomas and Keron Boyce will lead Pouderoyen in their clash against Bagotville, who will depend on the services of Corwin Wright, Mark Chester and Brian Fredericks to orchestrate a win.
Anthony and Ashley Hardin and Maxwell Trapp will be the lynchpins for Goed Fortuin in their skirmish against De Kinderen, who will have in their line-up Colin Henry, Steffon Coleman and Romel Medas.
What more could be said of the Sophia vs. Bourda Blues game, which has players the calibre of Peter and Ernie Smith and Jermaine Nedd starring for Sophia, while Lenox Cort, Tevin Curry and Joshua Brathwaite would don colours for the Blues.
Delon Lanferman, Kevyn Murray, Kobe Kingston and Dwayne Wilson will spearhead Den Amstel Back Street’s attempt to advance, while opponents Zeelugt have Avery Fraser, Dillon Schultz and Jason Peters to rely on for victory.
National player Trayon Bobb, Jamaal Harvey and Seon Bobb will represent Uitvlugt in their encounter against Vreed-en-Hoop, who will be spearheaded by Curtis Garraway, Trevon Abrams and Jamal Mounter.
Teams will be battling for a chance to claim the John Fernandes $300,000 first prize and the Prime Minister’s Trophy, along with hampers from Ricks and Sari.
The second placed team will take away the Courtney Benn-sponsored $100,000 prize on offer; third $60,000 put up by Technomills, and fourth $40,000 donated by Ready Mix, along with the respective trophies. All the trophies have been sponsored by Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo.
Also at stake are the individual rewards for the Most Goals, the winner of whom will take home a Dinette Chair from China Trading, while runners-up will be presented with a Lazy Boy Chair from AH&L Kissoon; along with the Best Goalkeeper, who will claim the Minister of Natural Resources Trophy.
Among the sponsors so far are Techno mills, Ready mix, Sattaur Gafoor, E.C Vieira, BEV Enterprises, BK International, IPA, New Thriving, Ricks and Sari, E-Networks, Star Computers, NAMILCO, Cummings Electrical, National Sports Commission, Star Entertainment, Alfro Alphonso, the Guyana Police Force, GuyOil, Minister of State, Prime Minister, and Ministry of Legal Affairs.
All teams are being asked to be at the venue by 15:00hrs, to ensure there is a prompt start to the day’s proceedings.