Broomes among 11 honoured by RHTY&SC

Minister within the Natural Resources Ministry, Simona Broomes was among 11 individuals who were honoured by the Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club (RHTY&SC) at its 28th annual award ceremony on Sunday evening.
The Dolphin Award of Excellence was established in 2015 and is the highest of the 12 awards of the Club. This year’s recipients included Clerk of the National Assembly, Sherlock Isaacs; Cricket Coach and former Test player Roger Harper; Guyana Water Inc Chief Executive Officer (CEO), Dr Richard Van West-Charles; Banker Harry Dass Ghaness; New Building Society (NBS) Deputy CEO Anil Beharry; Insurance Executive Bishwa Panday; Food For The Poor Chairman Paul Chan-a-Sue; Attorney-at-Law Anandranauth Gossai; and businessmen Poonai Bhiroog and Deonarine Balram.

Roger Harper receiving his Dolphin Award

Club Secretary/CEO Hilbert Foster disclosed that when the award was first announced, it was only limited to 30 persons. However, that number increased as more persons continued to make positive contributions to the county of Berbice and Guyana. The first two awardees were Busta General Manager Robert Selman and Gizmos&Gadgets CEO Ravi Mangar. Other awardees over the years included President David Granger; Prime Minister Moses Nagamootoo; Minister of State, Joseph Harmon and Journalists Avenash Ramzan, Franklin Wilson, Claude David, and Gregory Rambarran.
Minister Broomes was selected based on her charitable work with young women, while Dr Van West-Charles was hailed as a dedicated visionary. Ghaness, Balram, Poonai, and Beharry were honoured not only as role models but as outstanding friends of the Club.
Awardees Van West-Charles, Harper, Isaacs and Panday all expressed gratitude to the RHTY&SC for honouring them and commended the Club for the positive work that it continues to do within Berbice.