Chase, Dolphin, PC, Waramuri storm into Milo semi-finals

Four teams – Chase’s Academic Foundation, President’s College, Waramuri Primary Top and Dolphin Secondary – have punched their tickets, in contrasting fashion, to the Milo Schools’ Under-18 Football tournament semi-finals, scheduled for this Thursday at the Ministry of Education (MoE) Ground, Carifesta Avenue.
Sunday’s quarter-finals produced the chills and thrills as some schools fought valiantly for their spot in the next round, while others eased past the competition.
One such school was Chase’s Academic Foundation, who defeated Bartica Secondary 5-0. It was a team effort as Chase’s Neeiaz Baksh, Omar Sam, Bryan Wharton, Mark Glasgow and Isaiah Ifill netted one goal each in the 20th, 21st, 40th, 69th and 70th minutes for the win.

Dolphin Secondary (orange) needled West Ruimveldt to advance

Next, President’s College put on a dominating performance to keep a feisty East Ruimveldt Secondary at bay. President’s College converted their chances through Lyshown Morriah and Shamar Barrington in the 17th and 28th minutes while East failed to do the same, for a 2-0 score at the half. Daniel Alexander later made it a 3-0 game in the 65th, but Jahiem Herbert pulled one back for East Ruimveldt, for a 3-1 affair.
Waramuri Primary Top, after being tested by Ann’s Grove Secondary, emerged victorious, 3-0. Rondell Peters and Chetram Thomas found the back of the net in the 27th and 34th minutes to put Waramuri ahead, while Odell Holmes added the cherry on top in the 62nd minute.

Chase’s Academy (blue) dominated their contest against Bartica Secondary

The final game of the night was a thriller as Dolphin Secondary fought tooth and nail to overcome West Ruimveldt Secondary. The win for Dolphin came via a narrow 1-0 margin, after Ezekiel David netted in the first half.
The 10th Milo Schools’ football semi-finals are set to be staged this Thursday, April 25, while the final is expected to be contested Sunday, April 28 at the Carifesta Avenue venue.
In the semi-finals, Chase’s Academy will take on President’s College from 16:30h, while at 18:30h, Dolphin Secondary and Waramuri Primary Top will do battle for the remaining spot in Sunday’s final.