Christianburg-Wismar retains Championship

11th Edward ‘Screw’ Richmond….

National junior goalkeeper Jonathan Copeland showed his versatility by striking on the forward line to net the most goals as his team, Christianburg-Wismar Secondary, retained their hold on football at the school level.
They eased past Linden Technical Institute (LTI) 2-1 in the final of this year’s Edward “Screw” Richmond Secondary Schools Under-18 football championship, which was played at the Wisburg Secondary School Ground.
Copeland netted one of the goals in that final’s win and got a brace as his team after gaining a bye through the first round were able to win another championship to add to their bulging trophy case at this level.
In the final, they faced LTI where it was Copeland, who once more demonstrated his scoring prowess to find the back of the net in the 2-1 win.
The Linden Foundation Secondary (LFS) had to settle for third place in the 11th edition of the championship as they won against Wisburg Secondary via sudden penalties after they were locked 1-1 after open play failed to decide a winner.
To advance to the final, LTI, after a 0-0 stalemate with LFS, won penalty spot kicks 4-3.
In the other semi-final, Christianburg-Wismar defeated Wisburg Secondary 3-1 as Copeland netted twice and Janeuve Waldron accounted for the other goal.
The burly Copeland copped the Most Goals prize and Best Forward awards to go with the Most Valuable Player of the final prize, with teammates Bani Dow collecting the Best Defender prize while Andre Mayers copped the Best Midfielder prize. Tyrese Azore walked away with the Best Goalkeeper award while the Most Improved Player of the tournament award was won by the LTI’s Jamal Yaw. The Best Coach prize was copped by the LTI’s Joel Humphrey and LFS were adjudged the Best Dressed team.

Jonathan Copeland copped the best forward, MVP and Most goals awards