Pakistan visit President’s College

Stand-alone ICC Women’s World T20 tournament…
– ICC, CWI aim to promote female cricket in schools

Women’s cricket has continuously evolved over the years; the International Cricket Council (ICC) and Cricket West Indies (CWI) have organised programmes to spread awareness of the beautiful game.

The Pakistan team presented an autographed t-shirt and complimentary tickets to the school’s administration

Members of the Pakistan cricket team visited prestigious local senior secondary school, President’s College located at Golden Grove, East Coast Demerara, to spread awareness of cricket to female students.
Five members of the Pakistan team along with the team manager took time off their busy schedule to help promote women’s cricket to the female cricket enthusiasts. The Pakistanis received hearty welcomes from the students and teachers with a planned cultural programme in the school’s auditorium.

Members and manager of the Pakistan cricket team accompanied by President’s College students and teacher (Brandon Corlette photos)

President’s College female cricket team and the members of the Pakistan T20 International team assembled at the school’s tarmac which was transformed into an IPL-like atmosphere. The entire school’s population were on their feet supporting the game of cricket as the Pakistan women’s and President’s College female cricket team showcased an exhibition of cricketing strokes that greatly entertained the school’s population.

A Pakistan international player watches on from the non-striker’s end as a President’s College female player bowls

Additionally, the members of the Pakistan team made significant presentations to the school’s administration: a Women’s T20 International t-shirt was presented and a number of tickets were given to the school’s population to witness the exhilarating stand-alone ICC Women’s World T20 matches at the National Stadium, Providence, East Bank Demerara.
The Pakistan team will play their first match of the tournament against a tough Australian team on November 9 at the National Stadium.
Pakistan squad reads: Aiman Anwar; Aliya Riaz; Anam Amin; Ayesha Zafar; Bismah Maroof; Diana Baig; Javeria Khan (Captain); Muneeba Ali Siddiqui; Nahida Khan; Nashra Sundhu; Natalia Parvaiz; Nida Dar; Omaima Sohail; Sana Mir; Sidra Nawaz (wicketkeeper). (Brandon Corlette)