Reigning champions Persaud, Webster on course for repeat

Digicel Guyana Golf Classic 2016

Digicel Guyana Golf Classic was off to a successful start yesterday at the Lusignan Golf Course and it was last year’s male and female champions Avinash Persaud and Shaunella Webster, who ended the opening day in the lead of the historic event.laksmana-ramroop

Persaud finished with a gross of 74 to lead the 0-9 flight and the overall field of 76 males on a closely contested day. While Webster ended the day with the leading gross (83) and leading net (65) to close the day as the leader out of a group of eight competing in the female category.

The reigning male champion net was not among the top nine at the end of the day but he still has an entire day to improve on that as he will start the day on course to win a second successive title in Guyana’s premier golf tournament.

However, it is not expected to be an easy task for the leader, who is closely trailed by Kris Jadoenath and Munaf Arjune (79g 71n) in second and third respectively. Both Jadoenath (76g 71n) and Arjune returned outstanding performance in their gross and net scores.

Closing off the top five are Imran Khan and Ravi Ramjit, who are tied in third with Arjune on a 79 gross.

Meanwhile in the female category, following Webster are Joaan Deo and Kim Myung Ja, who are level with a net of 71. Michelle Berry (75n) and Christine Sukhram (77n) are the other females in the top five.

Webster is in a comfortable position to win but need to continue along a similar path today if she is to regain her title.

The day was filled with thrills, excitement and was very competitive but what could not have gone unnoticed, was the 13 year old St. Rose’s high school golfer, Laksmana Ramroop, who hit the longest drive. The petite teenager is playing with a 19-28 handicap and is currently placed third with his handicap with a gross of 96 and a net of 73.

Roy Cummings and Mike Gayadin are leading the 10-18 handicap group with a gross of 80 while Sam Harry (82g) is in third. The 19-28 handicap is led by Haresh Tiwari (87g) and Shivraj Mahesh (94g) in second and third respectively while Ramroop is in third. On a 93 gross Brij Bissesar and Jerome Khan are tied in first for the seniors while Mo Kwang Chung is in third with a 94 gross.The tournament continues today from 5:00h.