RHT Namilco Thunderbolt Flour defeats RHCCCC to lift Rose Hall Town’s 51st Anniversary Trophy

… Anderson cops Man of the Match award
— Team makes donation to Town Council

A brilliant innings from Guyana’s most promising batsman Kevlon Anderson spearheaded his team, Rose Hall Town Namilco Thunderbolt Flour, to an easy eight-wicket victory over Rose Hall Canje Community Centre Cricket Club last Sunday at the Area H Ground. The victory ensured that the home team carried home the Rose Hall Town’s 51st Anniversary 20/20 Trophy.
The township, Guyana smallest, attained its status on September 20th, 1970 and the Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club, MS, is assisting the Town Council to coordinate a series of activities to mark the anniversary.

Namilco Thunderbolt Team Captain Shawn Perreira handing over donation to the Mayor and Town Clerk of Rose Hall Town

Rose Hall Canje won the toss and elected to take first strike on a wicket playing its first competitive match in just under six months. They were immediately in trouble when opener Ravindra Beharry was bowled by a fiery Keon Sinclair for naught with the score on four in the first over. They never recovered, and were eventually bowled out for 84 off 19.5 overs, as all the home team bowlers bowled well.
Sasenarine Sukhu with 22, Eon Andrews with 14 and Zahir Hussain with 12 were the principal batters for Canje. Andrews and Sukhu added 30 for the 3rd wicket, but when Andrews was dismissed by off-spinner Junior Sinclair in the 14th over, the rest of the batting collapsed.
Bowling for the home team, skipper Shawn Perreira took 4 for 15 from four overs, Junior Sinclair took 2 for 14, while Kevin Sinclair, Matthew Pottaya and Keith Simpson each took a wicket.
Needing to score 85 from 20 overs, RHT Namilco lost West Indies player Kevin Sinclair second ball, stumped off the bowling of veteran left-arm spinner Mark Sampson for nought without a run on the board.
Former Windies under-19 player Kevlon Anderson joined opener Junior Sinclair, and together they added 24 for the second wicket, before Sinclair was trapped LBW by Meduim pacer Zahir Hussain for 12.
Veteran Jason Sinclair joined Anderson, who was already flowing with several attractive strokes. The pair added the required 62 runs for victory in just eight overs, with Anderson ending on 51 not out, which included four boundaries and four massive sixes, while Sinclair was unbeaten on 15, which included two delightful boundaries. Hussain, with 1 for 18, and Sampson, with 1 for 34, were the successful bowlers for Canje.
Anderson received a trophy for being adjusted the Player of the Match, while the runner-up team received a trophy and a box of red cricket balls, compliments of the RHT Namilco cricket team. The champions received the championship trophy and a cash prize, compliments of West Indies player Kevin Sinclair.
At the simple presentation ceremony, RHTY&SC Secretary/ CEO Hilbert Foster congratulated the champions and said his club is very pleased to be associated with the township, which has developed into the financial capital of Berbice. He committed the club and its 12 cricket teams to assisting the Town Council as much as possible to make a positive difference.
Mayor Dave Budhu expressed gratitude to the management of the RHTY&SC for the major role they have been playing in transforming the township, and the assistance they have provided to his council.
Members of the Namilco team also took the opportunity to donate several items to the Council, including street signs, plaques, framed certificates and national flags. Captain Shawn Perreira handed over the items to the Mayor and Town Clerk Natasha Griffith after the match.