BCB concludes 2018 cricket season with 30th tournament

– 2019 Sarwan Under-17 bowls off Monday
With the closure of school for the Christmas season, the Berbice Cricket Board (BCB) on Monday, December 17, 2018, will start its final tournament for 2018.
As the curtains come down, 2018 may be described as one of the busiest years in the Board’s 79-year history. Seventeen teams will participate in the 2019 Ramnaresh Sarwan Under-17 Tournament as the vibrant BCB starts early preparation for the Guyana Cricket Board (GCB) 2019 inter-county season.
The BCB in 2018 has organised tournaments at the Under-13, Under-15, Under-17, Under-19, Under-21, primary, secondary, internal zone, double wickets, female, Second-Division and First-Division levels.
BCB President Hilbert Foster disclosed that the Board has already started preparation for 2019 at the Under-15 and female levels by starting the Mike’s Pharmacy Under-15 and Nand Persaud Female Tournaments.
The Under-19 preparation will start early in January with the hosting of the New York Business Group 50-Over Tournament. Plans to select the Berbice Under-15, Under-17 and Under-19 teams by this year end have been pushed back to mid January due to the busy cricket schedule.
The cutoff date of birth is September 1, 2002. The 17 teams would be divided into three zones with two advancing from Zone A, and three each from Zones B and C to the quarterfinals.
Zone A consists of Blairmont A and B Community Centre, Achievers Cricket Club, Bush Lot United Cricket Club, D’Edward Cricket Club, Paradise Cricket Club while Zone B would feature Tucber Park Cricket Club, Mt Sinai Cricket Club, Kendall’s Union Cricket Club, Rose Hall Canje Cricket Club and Edinburgh Cricket Club. Zone C would involve six teams: Albion Community Centre A and B, Rose Hall Town Bakewell A and B, Port Mourant Cricket Club and Number 73 Cricket Club.
The Board would like to remind teams that all players are asked to be properly attired in whites, and teams failing to turn up 15 minutes before game time shall lose their rights to the toss. Walkovers would also be granted after half hour and the team giving the walkover would be disqualified from the tournament.
The BCB expressed gratitude to former West Indies Captain Ramnaresh Sarwan for his sponsorship of the tournament for the second time. Rose Hall Town Bakewell defeated Albion in the 2018 final to lift the title.