Berbice Cricket Board to resume tournaments in 2021

– Under-19 players to meet at Albion today

The Berbice Cricket Board (BCB) has taken a decision to resume on-field cricket action in the Ancient County in 2021. The Board had been anticipating the early restart of its season after receiving the necessary clearance from the relevant authorities. However, with the Guyana Cricket Board Under-19 inter-county tournament looming, fifty Under-19 players will assemble at the Albion Sports Complex as preparation for that tournament commences.
Below is a statement issued by the Board on its official Facebook page on Wednesday evening.

The BCB will continue its tournaments in 2021

It is with great regret that the Berbice Cricket Board has decided to call off cricket for the rest of the year (2020). We had sought and gotten permission of the Government, but the President and Secretary this afternoon consulted the executives based on the rising COVID-19 cases in Berbice.
The BCB had hoped to complete 10 tournaments, but we have decided that the health of our players is more important. Those tournaments would now be completed in 2021, along with the planned 30 tournaments.
President Hilbert Foster has made it quite clear that the health and welfare of our players is important at this moment. The BCB would, however, go ahead with the Under-19 sessions on Saturday.
If the GCB calls off the Inter-county tournament, we would stop the trials immediately. It is our hope that clubs in the county would be very careful in how they respond to the COVID-19 problem.
The following players are asked to report to the Albion Ground today (Saturday November 28) at 9:00h. They are asked to be properly attired in training uniform, wear a proper mask, and bring their own water and personal sanitizer.
Players’ temperature would be tested before they are allowed to enter the session. We are starting preparations for a proposed Under 19 inter county tournament, using this year as the cut-off date of birth.
The 50-players shortlisted are: Fawaz Gafoor, Ricardo Ramdehol, Rampertab Ramnauth, Seon Glasgow, Marvan Prashad, Shamar Angel, Chandrapaul Govindhan, Jonathan Rampersaud, Doorsammy Mahadeo, Gourav Ramesh, Aaron Beharry, Nigel Deodat, Gevon Shultz, Leon Swammy, Farouk Subhan, Anthony Williams, Mohabir Sewraj, Isiah Thorne, Sarwan Chaitnarine, Vikash Subramanir, Abdul Ramsammy, Mahendra Gopilall, Reyad Karim, Leon Cecil, Zeynul Ramsammy, Inzam Shazam, Akash Heeralall, Jarron France, Demetri Griffith, Surendra Ramcharitar, Daniel Dharamdat, Tomani Caesar, Tejram Diaram, Pavendra Ganesh, Lucas Arthur, Jeremy Sandia, Nikeem Noble, Quincy Auldies, Ronaldo Durant, Haresh Ramlochan, Wasim Inshan, Daniel Milne, Karran Mangru, Darren Brigadier, Tyrese Sealey, Raj Tika, Carl Gilgeous, Shivnarine Ramnaraine, Vettori Latham and Christopher Deroop.