CWSS are inaugural champions

ExxonMobil Schools’ Futsal tourney
Last Saturday, the curtains fell on the first schools’ futsal tournament that was contested among learning institutions in the mining town of Linden.

CWSS’ Skipper Andre Mayers receiving the championship trophy from a representative of NEE

Staged by New Era Entertainment in collaboration with ExxonMobil, the
perennially competitive Christianburg-Wismar Secondary School (CWSS) expectedly clinched the inaugural championship after earning a hard fought victory over Linden Technical Institute (LTI) in the final, via kicks from the penalty mark at the Mackenzie Sports Club’s (MSC’s) basketball court.
CWSS prevailed 7-6, and Kevin Dornick was named Most Valuable Player (MVP).
In the third-place playoff, Mackenzie High School (MHS) made light work of Linden Foundation to prevail 4-1.
CWSS pocketed $600,000 for the win, while LTI carted off $250,000. MHS received $100,000 for their third place finish, while Linden Foundation walked away with $50,000.
Each prize money will go towards a project of the school’s choice.
The NEE promotional group will now switch their focus to their annual Mohamed’s Enterprise/ExxonMobil senior futsal championships, which are set to be launched on Wednesday.