MYO, New Amsterdam chalk up wins

MYO/Trophy Stall Inter-Jamaat 10-Over Softball Cricket Competition…

The Muslim Youth Organisation of Guyana/Trophy Stall Inter-Jamaat 10-Over Softball Cricket Competition 2019 continued last Sunday, December 1 at the MYO Ground, Woolford Avenue, Thomas Lands. Notable wins were recorded by MYO and New Amsterdam to highlight the day of play.
In the first game between MYO and New Mosque, MYO won the toss and decided to bat first. MYO had made 103 for the loss of six wickets when their overs expired. Openers Zamal Khan and number three batsman Timore Mohamed were the main contributors scoring 15 runs (1×6, 1×4) and 60 runs (5×6,5×4) respectively. Leading the bowling for New Mosque with three wickets was Rahim Ali, supported by Imran Ally with two wickets,
New Mosque in their turn at the crease found it very difficult to clear the boundary as only two sixes were scored in their innings. New Mosque eventually gave up the run chase and had made 80 runs for the loss of six wickets when their overs expired. Rohit Samaroo scored 23 runs (1×6, 1×4) and Raheem Ali, 19 (1×6, 1×4). They were the main scorers. Fazal Nazeem picked up three wickets and Timore Mohamed two wickets for MYO.
In the second game between New Amsterdam Masjid and New Mosque, New Mosque won the toss and elected to field. New Amsterdam Masjid were elated to be sent in to bat as they scored 123 for the loss of two wickets in their allotment of 10 overs. Martin Singh scored 24 runs (1×6, 2×4); Carl Gilgeous 27 runs (3×4); Wahab Edoo 28 not out (2×6, 3×4) and Raymond Mohamed 26 not out (5×4). Azad Ally and Fizul Nazeem picked up one wicket each for New Mosque.
The total proved too much for New Mosque once again as they were bowled out for 71 runs in 9.4 overs. Altaf Samaroo and Amil Ally scored 22 and 21 runs respectively for New Mosque. A hat-trick in the seventh over by Bashir Kellawan was the final nail in New Mosque’s innings as they never recovered. Safraz Kassim also picked up two wickets for the New Amsterdam Masjid.
In the third game between New Amsterdam Masjid and MYO, MYO won the toss and batted first, making a massive score of 135 for the loss of three wickets. Openers Safraz Essau and Shaheed Gittens added 59 for the opening partnership before Gittens was bowled by Bashir Kellawan for 37 runs (3×6, 2×4). In came Richard Latiff and the pair batted very sensibly and kept finding the boundary at ease. Safraz Essau then went bowled by Akram Yassin for 25 runs (2×6, 1×4). Latiff eventually followed, caught off the bowling of Safraz Kassim for a well-played 43 (4×6, 1×4) and Timore Mohamed remained not out on 16 (2×4).
New Amsterdam Masjid were looking good to overcome that total, but fell short in the end by 12 runs, making 123 runs for the loss of three wickets. Opener Martin Singh was sent packing for five runs as he was bowled off Timore Mohamed’s first over. In came Wahab Edoo, who took a liking to the bowling, scoring maximums at ease. Opener Raymond Mohamed retired hurt for 31 runs (2×6) as Edoo kept scoring to keep New Amsterdam in the hunt. With New Amsterdam scoring at ease and looking to overcome the target, Timore Mohamed came back for his final over and this proved a wise decision for MYO as he bowled Edoo for 45 runs (6×6). Timore Mohamed finished with two wickets for nine runs for the winners.
The final game between Diamond New Scheme Masjid and MYO saw the former winning the toss and batting, scoring 85 runs for the loss of eight wickets. Opener Shafeek Ismail was the only batsman to score double figures with 45 runs (3×6, 5×4). Bowling for MYO with two wickets each were Timore Mohamed, Shaheed Gittens and Richard Latiff.
This total proved too little to trouble the hard-hitting batsmen of MYO as they made their target of 86 in 7.1 overs for the loss of two wickets. Opener Shaheed Gittens was unbeaten on 43 (3×6, 4×4); Safraz Essau made 18 (2×6) and Richard Latiff 15 (2×4).