North Ruimveldt surge to 4-2 win over Festival City

MoH/Petra Organisation/Busta Soft Shoe…

North Ruimveldt notched their first win in the Ministry of Health/Petra Organisation Soft Shoe Tournament on Wednesday when they defeated neighbours and arch rivals Festival City at the Santos Training Area, Square of the Revolution.shoft shoe

Veteran player Gerald Gittens recorded a double with conversions coming in the 15th and 30th minutes, to power his side to a 4-2 win over Festival City.

Anthony Sancho in the 9th and Joshua Browne in the 16th added the final touches to the comfortable win while the lone scorer for Festival City was Eon Alleyne who hit the back of net in the 14th and 19th.

Another exciting match was Channel 9 Warriors and West Back Road, with the latter edging to a 2-1 victory.

Jamal Haynes recorded braces in the 17th and 27th while Keemo Lawrence scored in 6th in a losing cause.

In the other matches, Tucville were held by East La Penitence in one all draw. Calvin Moore in the 3rd and Dennis Edwards of Tuvcille scored the two goals.

Globe Yard beat Cross Street 2-1 by virtue of goals from Andrew Murray in the 17th and Rolex Smith in the 28th; Shalomo Hunte was Cross street lone scorer in the 3rd.

A high scoring draw occurred between Campbellville and Laing Avenue, as both side were locked on four goals. Roy Cassou scored twice while Orlando Ricketts and David George scored one each. On the other side, Okeri Codrington recorded a double and received support from Ozeal Small and Kenneth Jackson who each scored once.

Holmes Street won via walkover against California Square.

Upon the conclusion of the group stage, the top two finishers from each group along with the four best third place finishers will advance to the knockout round.

Action continues on Saturday at the same venue from 19:00 hrs

The championship features 24 community based teams competing in an initial group stage in a round robin format before moving on to the knockout phase.

The winner of the event will collect $300,000 and the championship trophy while the second placed side will receive $200,000 and the runners-up accolade.

On the other hand, the third placed side will receive $100,000 and the respective trophy while the fourth place finishers will pocket $50,000 and the corresponding title.

On the individual side, prizes will be awarded to the event’s Most Valuable Player (MVP) and Highest Goal Scorer.