RHT Namilco Thunderbolt Flour teams continue to make positive difference

The Rose Hall Town Namilco Thunderbolt first division team is widely considered one of the top first division teams in Guyana, and over the two last years, has dominated the game in the Ancient County. The team in 2019 won all the first division tournaments in the Ancient County, while the RHT Namilco Thunderbolt Flour Under 21 team won the delayed 2019 under 21 tournaments after defeating arch-rivals Albion by seven wickets in early March.

RHTY&SC Asst Secretary/CEO Simon Naidu handing over donation to Dr. Cecil Beharry, President of the Rose Hall Canje CC

Under management of Organising Secretary Rabindranauth Kissoonlall and Asst Secretary/CEO Simon Naidu, the two teams continue to make a positive difference as part of their personal development programme. One of the requirements of being a member of the Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club is that all members shall be involved in social work and community development, to make a positive difference in the lives of others.
The two teams on Tuesday last completed the 250th activity mandatory for the club for 2021 by handing over three special prizes for the hosting of a fundraising raffle by the Rose Hall Canje Cricket Team. The prizes were an electric blender, electric iron and electric kettle.
The RH Canje Community Centre Cricket Club, headed by Dr. Cecil Beharry, participates in all tournaments organised by the vibrant Berbice Cricket Board. Dr. Beharry, in accepting the donation, noted that the club sometimes finds it difficult financially to play in all the tournaments because of how expensive balls are and transportation is.
The Club, he disclosed plays at the Under 13, Under 15, Under 17, Under 19, Under 21, Second Division, Internal Zone and First Division levels. Additionally, the RHCCCC also has several active female cricketers who play in the New Amsterdam/Canje Zone team.
Beharry expressed gratitude to the Namilco Thunderbolt teams for their assistance. He noted that his club receives a wide range of assistance from the club and the Berbice Cricket Board, which includes scorebooks, catching cribs, cricket balls, coloured uniforms, cricket gears, educational materials, bicycles and trophies, among other things.
Secretary/CEO Hilbert Foster, who is also the President of the Berbice Cricket Board (BCB), hailed the efforts of the Namilco Thunderbolt Flour teams for assisting their peers, and noted that the RHTY&SC strongly believes in assisting other clubs. This, he stated, is to assist all youths in the county to fulfill their dream of becoming a professional cricketer.
Foster also disclosed that the team had, in 2021, donated over $1M worth of items to Berbice clubs, including cricket balls, stumps, gears, scorebooks and trophies. The two teams would also be presenting bicycles to less fortunate youths in early May, while they are also planning to distribute hundreds of food hampers for Mothers and Father’s days in May and June respectively.
The teams also recently distributed $300,000 worth of kites across Guyana. Last year, the ten cricket teams of the RHTY&SC distributed over ten thousand food hampers as part of their joint COVID-19 response programme.
Members of the RHT Namilco Thunderbolt Flour Team include Kevin Sinclair, Kevlon Anderson, Royston Crandon, Clinton Pestano, Shemaine Campbelle, Sheneta Grimmond, Shabika Gajnabi, Junior Sinclair, Eon Hooper, Jason Sinclair, Delbert Hicks, Khemraj Mahadeo, Keon Sinclair, Keith Simpson and Shawn Pereira.