RHTY&SC’s Namilco Thunderbolt teams honour outstanding nursery school teachers

…under Say Yes to Education programme

The Rose Hall Town Youth and Sports Club’s Namilco Thunderbolt Under-21 and First-Division cricket teams on Wednesday last honoured  four outstanding nursery school teachers under their Say Yes to Education programme.
The teachers were drawn from the Rose Hall Town Nursery School and they are the first from the township to be honoured, with others at the primary and secondary levels to follow.
RHTY&SC Secretary/Chief Executive Officer (CEO) Hilbert Foster stated that the club over the past 26 years has hosted a highly-successful Say No/Say Yes programme which has targeted over 70,000 youths urging them to say no to drugs, crime, suicide, premarital sex, tobacco and alcohol and yes to life, education, sports, culture, and religion. The club, on an annual basis, hosts award ceremonies for teachers across the Lower Corentyne area, but this year decided to host award ceremonies  for schools in the township of Rose Hall.

The four awardees pose with their Head Mistress

The Tribute to Nursery School Awards ceremony would be followed by similar ones for primary and secondary teachers who work at the Rose Hall Town Primary School and Lower Corentyne Secondary School respectively. The main objectives, Foster stated, are to identify and honour outstanding teachers, to provide role models for other teachers to emulate and to encourage teachers in the three schools to maintain high standards.
He noted that the RHTY&SC was very grateful to the three schools for producing all-round students who have gone on to become members of Guyana’s leading youth and sports organisation. The club strongly believes in the promotion of education as it is the key to success, and it is very important that youths involved in sports have an academic background.
Foster urged the teachers to uphold their high standards and to redouble their efforts to make sure that a solid foundation is laid early in the minds of the children. He committed the club and the Rose Hall Town Namilco Thunderbolt Flour Under-21 and First-Division teams to sponsoring the award ceremony annually and assisting the school with educational materials on a regular basis. The teachers honoured were Kaajal Devi Nankooma (24 years of service); Padmani Bishun (8 years of service); Felicianne Rahim (8 years of service) and Kamachi Pasamen (3 years of service).

Felicianne Rahim receives her award from Head Mistress Minerva Rodney

Head Mistress Minerva Thomas Rodney hailed the support that the school has received over the years from the club, and committed the school’s management and staff to upholding the high standards the institution has set in the past .
Teacher Rahim expressed thanks to the Namilco team for the morale boost and wished the players more success on and off the cricket field. The Rose Hall Town Nursery School, over the past two decades, has produced hundreds of students who have gone on to represent RHTY&SC at different levels.
The RHT Namilco-sponsored team are widely considered Berbice’s leading First-Division team and currently hold all the titles at that level while the Under-21 team are the current Berbice champions after defeating Albion in the Elizabeth Styles Under-21 finals earlier this year. Among the members of the two teams are Clinton Pestano, Eon Hooper, Shawn Perriera, Kevlon Anderson, Kevin Sinclair, Junior Sinclair, Shemaine Campbelle, Sheneta Grimmond, Shabika Gajnabi, Jonathan Rampersaud, and Keith Simpson.