Smith and Savory earn maiden call-up

Super 50 squad announced

ꟷ Foo & Beaton return

The Guyana Jaguars team that will compete in the 2019 Colonial Medical Insurance Super50 Cup has been announced.

Jonathan Foo

Essequibo’s Kemol Savory and Lower Corentyne’s Nial Smith have each earned a maiden call-up, while Ronsford Beaton and Jonathan Foo have returned to the Jaguars fold.
The Jaguars will be playing in the Group ‘B’ matches, with the first match beginning on November 7th at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad.
The Full Squad reads: Tagenarine Chanderpaul, Chandrapaul Hemraj, Leon Johnson (Captain), Christopher Barnwell, Raymon Reifer, Anthony Bramble, Gudakesh Motie, Veerasammy Permaul, Clinton Pestano, Ronsford Beaton, Nial Smith, Jonathan Foo, Kemol Savory and Ramaal Lewis.
Esaun Crandon is the Head Coach, while Shivnarine Chanderpaul is the Assistant Coach, and Neil Barry is the Physiotherapist/Strength & Conditioner.
Romario Shepherd may return to the squad after completing duty with the West Indies ODI team.

Nial Smith

West Berbice, Georgetown record consolation wins
West Berbice have defeated West Demerara by 55 runs. Batting first, West Demerara scored 206-9 in their allotted overs, with Kevin Sinclair falling one run short of his third half-century, after being bowled by left-arm seamer Raymon Reifer. Sinclair’s patient innings saw him hitting two sixes and one four.
West Demerara took consistent wickets despite cameos from Marvan Prashad (29), Andrew Dutchin (21), and Steffan Harris (21). Mahendra Dhanpaul (3-56) and Reifer (3-41) were the most efficient bowlers.
West Demerara were restricted to 151, scored in 39.5 overs. Tagenarine Chanderpaul followed up his century in the previous round with a top score of 56, but only Reifer provided support, with 46.

Flashback: Ronsford Beaton in Guyana Jaguars colours

Left-arm spinners Gudakesh Motie (3-29) and Nigel Deodat (3-27) were the principal wicket-takers.

Ronsford Beaton

Meanwhile, in the other match, Georgetown won the toss and decided to bat. They ended their 50 overs at 271-9, with Skipper Leon Johnson leading the scoring with 68 runs before falling to East Coast’s most dominant bowler, Damuka Ngqondo, who took 4 for 59.
Jeremiah Scott contributed 58 runs, but again fell to Ngqondo, while Joshua Persaud and Raymond Perez each contributed 44 runs.
Chandrapaul Ramraj collected 2 wickets.

Kemol Savory

East Coast remained winless after they were bundled out for 90 in 30.3 overs. Steven Sankar led the rout with 3-26, and was well supported by Leon Johnson with 2-4. Extras accounted for 22 runs, and Alphius Bookie made 18.