West Indies 4-Day Championship 2023: Guyana prevail against Trinidad and Tobago

Guyana are the table leaders in the tournament

Darren Bravo missed out on his third century of the tournament, while Amir Jangoo scored an even fifty, but they could not prevent the Trinidad & Tobago Red Force from suffering a 143-run defeat to the Guyana Harpy Eagles on day four of their match, being played at the Brian Lara Cricket Academy.

Darren Bravo

This win means the Guyana Harpy Eagles continue to reign supreme at the top of the West Indies Championship table after three rounds.

The Red Force started the day on 106-3, and lost their fourth wicket quickly, as Jyd Goolie was run out for 18 in the 48th over with the score on 119. Tion Webster then joined Bravo at the crease, and the pair put on 25 before Webster was bowled by Veerasammy Permaul for 16 in the 55th over.

Bravo was next to go, falling agonizingly short of his third hundred of the season when he was dismissed by Permaul for a well-made 170-ball 95 in the 61st over.
The very next ball saw Permaul removing Imran Khan for a golden duck, to leave the Red Force reeling at 165-7.

Bryan Charles was next to go, falling for one with the score on 174. Red Force were 175-8 at lunch, needing a further 247 runs to win, with Amir Jangoo (10) and Uthman Muhammad (0) at the crease.

Jangoo and Muhammad continued to fight after lunch, until Muhammad was dismissed by Ronsford Beaton for 25 with the score on 211 in the 83rd over.

The last pair of Jangoo and debutant Justin Manick put on a valiant 57 for the last wicket, before Manick went for 22 off the bowling of Kevin Sinclair.

Wicket-keeper Anthony Bramble suffered a nasty blow to his face while taking a Ronsford Beaton-delivery. He was rushed to the hospital for treatment.

Jangoo ended on 50 not out as the Red Force were bowled out for 268 in 97.5 overs. Guyana will now return home to play Jamaica Scorpions from Wednesday March 22 at Providence. Test players Gudakesh Motie and Tagenarine Chanderpaul are expected to feature in the starting XI for Guyana in the next match.

Trinidad and Tobago 2nd Innings
Jeremy Solozano c Bramble b Smith 0
Keagan Simmons c Johnson b Paul 8
Darren Bravo c Sinclair b Permaul 95
Jason Mohammed lbw b Paul 13
Jyd Goolie run out 18
Tion Webster b Permaul 16
Amir Jangoo not out 50
Imran Khan c Bramble b Permaul 0
Bryan Charles lbw b Beaton 1
Uthman Muhammad c Paul b Beaton 25
Justin Manick st Imlach b Sinclair 22
(10 wickets, 97.5) (20 extras) 268
FOW: 2/1 (1.4) Jeremy Solozano 31/2 (10.5) Keagan Simmons 70/3 (19.5) Jason Mohammed 119/4 (47.1) Jyd Goolie 144/5 (54.2) Tion Webster 165/6 (60.3) Darren Bravo 165/7 (60.4) Imran Khan 174/8 (63.2) Bryan Charles 211/9 (82.5) Uthman Muhammad 268/10 (97.5) Justin Manick

Ronsford Beaton (17-5-53-2)
Nial Smith (15-4-44-1)
Keemo Paul (18-1-73-2)
Kevin Sinclair (15.5-3-31-1)
Veerasammy Permaul (32-11-58-3)