Agricola, Craig square off in Saturday’s final

Craig scorers! From left: Joshua Moore, Sheldon Wickham and Romeo King
Craig scorers! From left: Joshua Moore, Sheldon Wickham and Romeo King

EBFA/Ralph Green U-11 League…


Agricola Red Triangle downed Grove Hi Tech via the penalty kicks after battling to a nil-all scoreline in regulation and extra time, while Craig School halted the surge of Friendship All Stars 5-0 to book a date in the final of the inaugural Ralph Green sponsored East Bank Football Association’s (EBFA) Under-11 League.

Contesting last Saturday’s semi-finals at the Grove Playfield, the young Agricola lads held their nerves to rally for a 4-2 penalty kicks win in a match that saw both sides coming close to scoring but did not during regulation and extra time.

While Grove held the early momentum, as the match progressed, Agricola upped the ante as they took the attack to Grove. Scoring from the spot for the winners were Floyd Boyce, Raheem Williams, Jamal Fyffe and Kevon Cato.

The only players on target for Grove were Tyrese Jones and Jamal Cordis as one shot went wide of the mark whilst the other was saved by goalkeeper Adam Wilson.

Craig Primary was too solid for Friendship All Stars to handle as they ran away 5-0 winners handing the latter their first loss of the league which relegates them to the third place playoff with Grove.

Joshua Moore set up the huge win for Craig Primary with two goals in as many minutes when he hit the target in the fourth minute from the penalty spot and one minute later from a well placed shot that rocked the back of the nets.

Sheldon Wickham emulated his teammate with another double in the 12th and 14th minute. The other goal was scored by Romeo King in the 15th minute. Tried they did but Friendship just could not find their earlier scoring form even as their star player, Shavi Atkinson trioed his best but could not breach the Craig defense.

Saturday’s third place match will see Grove and Friendship matching skills from 10:30h to be followed by the final between Agricola and Craig. The presentation of prizes will follow after the final when a new champion will be crowned. Last year’s champs, Herstelling Raiders did not make the final four cut.

The Ralph Green Lien Trophy is at stake while the top three clubs will receive gold, silver and bronze medals while the fourth placed club will get participatory medals. There will also be five individual trophies that will go to the Highest Goal Scorer, Best Goalkeeper, Most Valuable Player, Most Disciplined Player and Most Promising Player, while Certificates of Participation will be presented to each player that from the six teams that played.