Marian Academy, Kwakwani Secondary are NSBF 2017 National Champions

On Sunday night the 2017 National Schools Basketball Festival (NSBF) National Finals opened with the Males U-14 title game between Marian Academy, and the 2016 defending champs Mackenzie High School which Marian won by a score of 34 to 30 points.
Jether Harris, MVP and Best scorer, led Marian with 20 points, 13 rebounds and 3 steals while Meshal Allicock supported him with 4 points and 5 steals.
Mackenzie’s best player was Cy Walker who scored 11 points and 4 rebounds while Damascus Adams added 9 points.
In the second game of the evening Kwakwani Secondary easily bagged the U-16 title by defeating Marian Academy 42 to 20 points.
Kadeem Dover scored a game high 13 points while Best Defender, Nicholoud Lowden had 11 rebounds and 5 steals with Isaiah Hintzen (MVP) contributing with 10 points, 11 rebounds and 5 steals.

Action in the U-19 final between LTI and Marian Academy

Josiah Daniels fought hard for his 8 points and 8rebounds in response for Marian.
The Girls finals saw a replay of the Regional finals between Marian Academy and President’s College with Marian on this occasion prevailing by 17 to 11 points.
Jada Mohan who was adjudged the tournament MVP led for Marian Academy with a top score of 14 points, 5 rebounds and 3 steals.
Roeshell Campbell scored 6 points and 6 rebounds in reply for PC.
The Linden Technical Institute proved their seniority by defeating Marian Academy 52 to 48 points in the U-19 final.
Tournament, MVP and Best scorer Daniel Lee had a game high 23 points while Akini Wilson supported with 7 points and 12 rebounds.
Timothy Thompson had 22 points and 14 rebounds while Jahleel Young added 12 points for Marian. The Tournament was sponsored by Edward B Beharry and Companies Ltd, the National Sports Commission, John Fernandes Ltd and Sterling Product Ltd. (Michelangelo Jacobus)